Tis the Season to Be Single?

Alright, time to get serious.

I am officially in full-on holiday spirit mode.

What does that mean? Listening to Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas is You” like it’s my job, wearing more glitter in my day-to-day outfits than Sophia Grace & Rosie, deciding exactly how I want to perfectly decorate my (non-existent) silver tinsel Christmas tree, and obsessing over a New Year’s Eve dress that I will probably only wear around my apartment.

While that may seem a tad nuts, if I am being perfectly honest I really couldn’t care less. It’s after Thanksgiving, for the first time in four years I am not working in retail during the holiday season, and therefore find it completely acceptable to be swept away with tidings of good cheer.

Yet even with all of this Christmas bliss, there is still a “dark side” to my holiday season that I am constantly being nagged by.

Once again I am spending a holiday season single.

Don’t get me wrong, I actually enjoy being single most of the time, and spending the holidays unattached definitely has its advantages. But it would be nice to know that I have a built in New Year’s kiss, holiday party drinking buddy, and real-life Valentine (versus my long-standing dream scenario).

My biggest problem is, because a majority of my friends come with their very own plus-one, I sometimes find myself drinking wine alone in my apartment more than I would like. And it’s not even like I looking for something super serious, just serious enough that I don’t always have to pay for my own dinner and drinks.

That is why I am officially sharing my holiday wish on the blog and sending it out into the universe…

Wanted: Slightly-serious but still fun and casual seasonal boyfriend.

  • Must be willing to spend now through Valentine’s Day with me, including major holidays, two weekend days a month and dinner/drinks/coffee one night a week.
  • Need to have a great sense of humor and a desire to be social and have fun, not require a makeover, get along with my friends, and actually want to text me every once in a while.
  • In terms of looks, ideally I like dark hair with light eyes, and someone super tall. I also appreciate a nice smile. Basically if you look anything like Adam Levine, Matt Bomer, Joe Manganiello, Bradley Cooper, Channing Tatum, Cory Monteith, a tall Zac Efron (even a life-sized Zac Efron) we’re good.

If you are wondering whether or not I realize I sound like I need to be committed to a mental institution, then the answer is yes, yes I do.

And it’s not like I am actually being 100% serious about my wanting this kind of Christmas miracle. But I mean, if I am going to go for it, I might as well go for it.

Besides holiday time or not, I always sound like a crazy person… At least I am upfront about it.

Leave a comment

Filed under (500) Days of Samantha

Leave a comment