Favorite Things

I say this all the time, but I can’t believe 2013 is almost over. Where has the year gone?! Personally, I still am not over the fact that I am no longer in college, so to think I “survived” 23 and my first full year as an adult (a term I am using verrrry loosely) blows my mind.

This year has been one of major growth and change, and while I feel a little bit like I am suffering from a self-diagnosed case of 23rd year of life PTSD, all and all it was pretty great. That being said, I have a feeling 2014 is going to blow 2013 out of the water, and I am very much looking forward to seeing what the next 12 months brings. As of right now, I have a move to a new neighborhood and my standard trip to Florida planned, and all of that is happening by the end of February…. so imagine what the rest of the year has in store. I’m excited to find out!

Before we kiss this year goodbye, I want to share my favorite things from this holiday season. The magic of the holidays is always fleeting, so any excuse to stop and smell the Christmas trees is a good one.

Mariah Carey, “All I Want for Christmas Is You”

Is there anything better than this? As a Jew, we don’t really have any spectacular holiday songs, so maybe that’s why I am addicted to this one. But realistically, it’s because it’s amazing. Mariah Carey is diva enough to begin with, but when you mix in a little holiday magic and A LOT of glitter, you get pure Christmas deliciousness. Don’t lie, you know you love it too.

Gilded Eyes & Deep Lips

tumblr_mvsym76dUC1r309p1o1_500This year I decided to get fancy with my makeup and branch out into deep red lipstick territory… and I have to say, I kind of loved it. Nothing dresses up an outfit or makes you feel a little slutty quite like a good tube of red lipstick, so for anyone wanting to feel adventurous this holiday season, I highly recommend taking the plunge into bold lip color land.

Zooey Deschanel & Joesph Gordon-Levitt, “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?”

Three years later, I am still obsessed with the adorableness that is this song. The combination of Zooey Deschanel’s quirkiness with JGL’s hotness, all tied together with an acoustic holiday ribbon, is almost too much for me to handle. Almost.

Starbucks Christmas Cups

tumblr_mdus69J9NB1rig7vyo1_500Everyone has their own measure for the beginning of the holiday season. For me, it’s when Starbucks rolls out their holiday marketing. Nothing makes an overpriced peppermint mocha taste quite as good as a red cup. I know it’s technically the exact same cup as their white ones, but I swear it’s more delicious this way. Because it is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Favorite Things

Leave a comment